Warhammer Age of Sigmar - Soulbound

Cubicle 7 announces Age of Sigmar RPG

Exciting news for Warhammer Age of Sigmar fans as Cubicle 7 and Games Workshop reveal more details about their exciting new RPG, set to hit stores in 2019.

Originally announced in 2018, the details surrounding the new Age of Sigmar RPG have been few and far between, but this week at Warhammer Fest, Cubicle 7 teased fans with a few more titbits about the epic tale of heroes, gods and monsters fighting a desperate battle for the fate of the Mortal Realms.

The first update is the name of this new saga, Soulbound. This was closely followed with details of a new starter set, which will contain two books: an adventure book that will teach players and GMs how to play Soulbound; and a city guide that will give more information on a brand new city in the realm of Aqshy.

As well as the two books, the Starter Set will come with pre-generated characters, player handouts, reference sheets, and lots more goodies.

What’s it all about?

The Age of Chaos saw the Mortal Realms overrun with violence and death, but Sigmar’s return and the beginning of the Age of Sigmar saw hope rekindled. But now Nagash, the Undying King and Lord of Death, has set a thousand-year plan in motion. The dead stalk the lands and the mighty Stormcast Eternals are stretched to the brink. The Realms need heroes or risk falling into a new age: The Age of Death.

When you play the Age of Sigmar Roleplaying Game you will be taking on the roles of heroes of the Mortal Realms. Your disparate group are a beacon of hope in the Realms and it is up to you to ensure that light isn’t extinguished. You will drive back the forces of Chaos, Death, and Destruction and help to return life and civilisation to the Realms.

How’s it going to work?

Age of Sigmar: Soulbound will use a D6 dice pool system, which players can create by adding attributes and skill proficiencies. Attributes describe your innate capabilities such as physical prowess, intelligence and strength of will, while skills represent your competency and experience in a particular area. Each character has 3 attributes — Body, Mind, and Soul — and can choose from up to 24 unique Skills.

As well as attributes and skills, players will also have talents. Talents are unique abilities that further define what you are capable of, such as spellcasting, aethercraft or channeling the power of Sigmar into your strikes. When you choose your archetype you will have a predetermined list of skills and talents to choose from, but as your character grows you will be able to select from a wide array of unique options.

The Archetypes

As with most tabletop RPGs, your character archetype plays a big role not only in the spells and abilities of your warrior, but how they play and interact with the world around them.

In Soulbound, each archetype represents your species, your starting attributes, your skills, talents, faction influence, starting equipment, and anything else that is important for your character.

The Archetypes presented in the corebook are drawn from some of the most well-known heroes of the Forces of Order. So far, Cubicle 7 has confirmed the Knight-Questor and Knight-Incantor of the Stormcast Eternals, Auric Runesmiter of the Fyreslayers, Aether-Khemist of the Kharadron Overlords, Isharann Tidecaster of the Idoneth Deepkin, Witch Aelf of the Daughters of Khaine, Excelsior Warpriest of the Devoted of Sigmar, Former Freeguild Soldier of the Free Peoples, Kurnoth Hunter of the Sylvaneth, Skink Starpriest of the Seraphon, and the mysterious Realmswalker as archetypes.

As a big fan of not only the races, but also the lore surrounding Age of Sigmar, I can’t wait to get my hands on the starter box later this year. The world of tabletop RPGs has been screaming out for a Warhammer game like this for a rather long time.

For more information about Soulbound and Cubicle 7’s other RPGs, including Warhammer Fantasy, check out www.cubicle7games.com.